Un comité de direction  et trois groupes de travail  (l’inclusion sociale, l’inclusion économique, les interventions fondées sur des données probantes) mèneront l’évaluation.

Notre comité d’évaluation et affaires scientifiques a nommé le Dr Lonnie Zwaigenbaum comme président. Sous sa direction, nous avons sélectionné les membres du comité de direction  et des groupes de travail.  Nous nous sommes assurés que les personnes autistes et les parents aient des rôles de premier plan au sein du comité de direction et des groupes de travail; ils orienteront l’évaluation et participeront à la prise de décisions.  Ils ont été choisis au moyen d’un appel ouvert aux intervenants.

Les critères de sélection étaient fondés sur l’expertise dans divers domaines, sur la crédibilité et sur la diversité. Par diversité, nous entendons notamment le sexe, l’âge, l’ethnicité et la représentation régionale.

Le comité de direction travaillera avec les groupes de travail pour s’assurer que l’évaluation concernant l’autisme repose sur un examen complet des données probantes actuelles et émergentes réalisé grâce à l’analyse des tendances, des pratiques exemplaires et des politiques existantes au Canada et partout dans le monde.

Présentation des membres :

Dr Lonnie Zwaigenbaum, M.D., MACSS
Président, Comité de Direction

Le Dr Lonnie Zwaigenbaum est chef du département clinique de la zone d’Edmonton pour la santé des enfants aux Alberta Health Services et professeur au département de pédiatrie de l’Université de l’Alberta. Il est également clinicien-chercheur, appuyé par la chaire de recherche en autisme de la Stollery Children’s Hospital Foundation, et membre de l’Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé. Ses recherches sont axées sur l’amélioration du diagnostic, les facteurs influençant le développement et les résultats, ainsi que sur les soins de santé et l’expérience de vie liée à l’autisme.
M. Aaron Bouma
Vice-président, Comité de Direction

M. Aaron Bouma est un adulte autiste qui a reçu un diagnostic d’autisme à l’âge de trois ans et celui d’Asperger à l’âge de 12 ans. Historien militaire, entrepreneur et activiste politique, M. Bouma possède une entreprise où il construit des maquettes et des meubles militaires à partir de rien et fait des présentations sur le thème de l’histoire militaire dans les écoles. En tant qu’avide réseauteur et activiste communautaire, M. Bouma croit que l’apport de ceux qui ont vécu l’expérience de l’autisme est essentiel à la création de toute politique gouvernementale concernant les personnes autistes.
Dre Mélanie Couture erg. Ph. D.
Vice-présidente, Comité de Direction

La Dre Mélanie Couture est professeure titulaire à l’École de réadaptation de la Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé de l’Université de Sherbrooke. Ergothérapeute, elle mène des recherches sur l’autisme depuis 2005, année où elle a commencé sa formation postdoctorale à la Clinique d’autisme du Children Hospital de Montréal et à l’Université McGill. Dre Couture a d’abord étudié les caractéristiques sensorimotrices des jeunes enfants diagnostiqués et leurs répercussions sur l’indépendance fonctionnelle. Elle a ensuite poursuivi des projets de surveillance et de dépistage précoce, en plus d’interventions précoces pour encadrer les parents. Plus récemment, elle a terminé une vaste étude sur la participation sociale des adultes autistes, y compris un sondage provincial, des entrevues avec des adultes et des parents autistes, et des groupes de discussion avec des cliniciens et des organismes communautaires. Elle mène actuellement des recherches sur le développement de l’identité des femmes autistes, les besoins en logement des adultes autistes et sur un modèle spécifique de soutien à l’emploi.
M. John « Jackie » Barrett
Vice-président, inclusion économique

M. John « Jackie » Barrett est un adulte autiste et un athlète canadien accompli qui participe aux Jeux olympiques spéciaux. À l’âge de six ans, M. Barrett a reçu un diagnostic d’autisme, ainsi qu’un trouble de la parole et un trouble d’apprentissage. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université Saint Mary’s et d’un diplôme de programmeur-analyste et concepteur de solutions Internet du Collège CDI. M. Barrett s’est joint aux Jeux olympiques spéciaux à l’âge de 13 ans, en tant qu’athlète, de 1987 à 2015. Il a représenté le Canada à titre de dynamophile aux Jeux olympiques spéciaux mondiaux de 1999, 2007, 2011 et 2015. Plus tôt cette année, en tant que médaillé d’or aux Jeux olympiques spéciaux mondiaux, il a été intronisé au Panthéon des sports canadiens. Il comprend ce que c’est que d’être autiste et il a hâte de donner son point de vue sur la création de politiques relatives aux personnes autistes.
M. Mark Chapeskie

M. Mark Chapeskie est père de deux jeunes fils autistes. Il a fait du bénévolat pour Quickstart Autism et préside le Comité consultatif des familles d’enfants autistes au Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario. Il a reçu une formation parentale sur le modèle d’intervention précoce de Denver, le programme Autism Navigator élaboré en Floride et les quatre étapes précoces de communication de Hanen. Dans sa vie professionnelle, il est directeur des programmes à Ressources humaines, industrie électrique du Canada et a géré des programmes de recherche afin d’élaborer des normes professionnelles nationales et des renseignements connexes sur le marché du travail. Il a travaillé à l’étranger en Asie orientale et en Afrique subsaharienne. M. Chapeskie est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en administration de l’Université St. Lawrence et d’une maîtrise en sécurité humaine et consolidation de la paix de l’Université Royal Roads.
Mme Shirley Chua-Tan
Vice-présidente, inclusion sociale

Mme Shirley Chua-Tan a un fils autiste fonctionnel et non verbal de 30 ans qui est un athlète accompli. Mme Chua-Tan a écrit un livre sur son expérience en tant que mère d’un médaillé international et premier athlète aux besoins particuliers du Yukon à se qualifier pour deux sports saisonniers (ski et natation) aux Jeux olympiques spéciaux. Elle est une entrepreneure, une développeuse et une agente immobilière prospère. Mme Chua-Tan est l’ancienne vice-présidente, mais demeure une membre active d’Autism Yukon. Elle très engagée dans plusieurs activités bénévoles et sans but lucratif. En tant que véritable défenderesse des autistes et de leurs parents, Mme Chua-Tan comprend les défis auxquels ces parents doivent faire face, particulièrement, en ce qui concerne les systèmes scolaires et les services aux adultes. Elle dirige actuellement des ateliers de motivation pour communiquer le pouvoir de l’établissement d’objectifs et de l’espoir.
Dre Tara Flanagan, Ph. D.
Présidente, inclusion sociale

Dre Tara Flanagan est la directrice de SPARC (Social Policy, Advocacy, Research, Community), un groupe de recherche composé d’étudiants diplômés provenant de divers milieux et possédant des forces et des intérêts variés. Le mandat de SPARC est de promouvoir l’inclusion sociale des personnes handicapées en mettant l’accent sur l’autodétermination, la collectivité et une responsabilité partagée pour obtenir des résultats positifs. Les intérêts universitaires et les subventions de recherche de Dre Flanagan sont reliés à l’inclusion et à la politique sociales, à la transition de l’école à la collectivité, à l’autodétermination et à la qualité de vie des personnes ayant divers types de handicaps ainsi que d’autres groupes en quête d’équité.
Dr Stelios Georgiades, Ph. D.
Vice-président, interventions fondées sur des données probantes

Le Dr Stelelios Georgiades est professeur agrégé au département de psychiatrie et de neurosciences comportementales et scientifique au Offord Centre for Child Studies de l’Université McMaster. Son programme de recherche porte sur les facteurs qui influencent les trajectoires de développement des enfants et des jeunes autistes. L’objectif fondamental de cette recherche est de générer de nouvelles connaissances qui mèneront à des diagnostics et des interventions basés sur des données probantes plus précises pour l’autisme. Le Dr Georgiades est le fondateur et codirecteur de l’équipe de recherche sur l’autisme de l’Université McMaster (MacART), une collaboration interdisciplinaire qui vise à faire progresser les soins en matière d’autisme grâce à des recherches sérieuses.
Dr Laurent Mottron MD, Ph. D., MACSS

Le Dr Laurent Mottron, M. D., Ph. D., est professeur titulaire au département de psychiatrie et d’addictologie, et titulaire de la chaire de recherche sur les neurosciences cognitives de l’autisme M&R Gosselin de l’Université de Montréal. Il est chercheur clinique spécialisé dans les aspects cognitifs de l’autisme. En plus de la recherche et de l’activité clinique, il est maintenant responsable de l’axe cognition du Réseau pour transformer les soins en autisme, le réseau scientifique provincial du Québec pour la recherche sur l’autisme. L’intégration d’adultes autistes dans son équipe de recherche, ses livres et ses interventions publiques ont contribué à réduire la discrimination à l’égard des adultes au niveau scientifique et sociétal. Ses travaux récents portent sur l’hétérogénéité des phénotypes, l’intervention précoce fondée sur les forces autistes et l’influence de la trivialisation du diagnostic de l’autisme sur la capacité d’obtenir des résultats de recherche.
Dr David Nicholas, Ph. D., RSW
Président, inclusion économique

Le Dr David Nicholas est professeur et doyen associé, recherche et partenariats à la faculté de travail social de l’Université de Calgary. Son travail a mis l’accent sur l’emploi inclusif et l’engagement dans les milieux communautaires et sociétaux. Il est l’auteur de plus de 160 publications évaluées par des pairs, mettant l’accent sur le bien-être dans les domaines de l’invalidité et des problèmes de santé chroniques, y compris l’autisme. Les autres domaines d’intérêt comprennent l’accès à l’emploi, ainsi que la qualité de vie et le soutien aux personnes et aux familles. Le Dr Nicholas dirige le laboratoire d’innovation sur les capacités professionnelles de l’Université de Calgary, qui fait progresser les capacités en matière d’autisme et d’emploi.
Dre Keiko Shikako-Thomas, Ph. D., erg.
Présidente, interventions fondées sur des données probantes

Dre Keiko Shikako-Thomas est titulaire d’une chaire de recherche au Canada sur les handicaps chez les enfants : Participation et application des connaissances. Elle est professeure agrégée à l’École de physiothérapie et d’ergothérapie de l’Université McGill. Ses recherches portent sur la promotion d’un mode de vie sain et des droits de la personne des enfants handicapés, ainsi que sur la science et la pratique de l’application des connaissances. Son programme de recherche adopte une approche participative pour inclure les différentes parties prenantes, y compris les décideurs, les enfants et leurs familles, dans la recherche de solutions pour changer les environnements, l’élaboration de politiques et la promotion de la participation des enfants handicapés dans différents rôles et activités de la vie.

Dre Caroline Tait, Ph. D.

Caroline Tait est anthropologue médicale et s’intéresse à la recherche sur la santé des Autochtones, la justice sociale et les défis auxquels font face les femmes marginalisées. Elle a obtenu sa maîtrise à l’université de la Californie (Berkeley) et son doctorat à l’Université McGill. Dre Tait a été boursière Fulbright et chercheuse invitée à Harvard et a obtenu une bourse postdoctorale à McGill. En 2004, la Dre Tait est retournée dans sa province d’origine, la Saskatchewan, pour se joindre au Indigenous Peoples’ Health Research Centre, une initiative de collaboration entre l’Université des Premières Nations du Canada, l’Université de Regina et l’Université de la Saskatchewan. En 2012, Dre Tait est devenue membre du corps professoral du département de psychiatrie de l’Université de la Saskatchewan.

An Oversight Panel and three Working Groups (Social Inclusion, Economic Inclusion, and Interventions) provide leadership for this assessment.

Our Assessment and Scientific Affairs Committee appointed Dr. Lonnie Zwaigenbaum and, with his guidance, selected the members of the Oversight Panel and Working Groups. We ensured that autistic people and parents are in leadership positions on the Oversight Panel and Working Groups, setting the direction for the assessment and participating in decision making. They were identified through an open call to stakeholders.

The selection criteria were based on expertise in various fields, credibility, and diversity. Diversity included, amongst other things, gender, age, ethnicity, and regional representation.

The Oversight Panel will work with the Working Groups to ensure that the autism assessment is based on a comprehensive review of current and emerging evidence by analyzing trends, best practices, and existing policies in Canada and across the globe.

Meet the Members:

Dr. Lonnie Zwaigenbaum, MD, FCAHS
Chair, Oversight Panel

Dr. Lonnie Zwaigenbaum is the Edmonton Zone Clinical Department Head for Child Health with Alberta Health Services and Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Alberta. He is also a Clinician Scientist supported by the Stollery Children’s Hospital Foundation Chair in Autism and a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. His research focuses on improving diagnosis, factors influencing development and outcomes, as well as health care and lived experience related to autism.
Mr. Aaron Bouma
Vice Chair, Oversight Panel

Mr. Aaron Bouma is an autistic adult who was diagnosed with autism at age three and Asperger’s at age 12. A military historian, entrepreneur, and political activist, Mr. Bouma owns a business where he builds military models and furniture from scratch and delivers military history themed presentations in schools. As an avid networker and community activist, Mr. Bouma believes the input of those with lived experience as autistic is imperative to the creation of any governmental policies surrounding autistic people.
Dr. Mélanie Couture erg. OTR. Ph.D.
Vice Chair, Oversight Panel

Dr. Mélanie Couture is a Full Professor for the School of Rehabilitation, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences at Université de Sherbrooke. She is an Occupational Therapist who has been conducting research on autism since 2005 when she started her postdoctoral training at the Autism Clinic of the Montréal Children’s Hospital and McGill University. Dr. Couture initially investigated the sensori-motor features of young children being diagnosed and its impact on functional independence. She then pursued projects on surveillance and early screening in addition to early intervention as coaching for parents. More recently she completed a large study on the social participation of autistic adults including a provincial survey, interviews with autistic adults and parents, and focus groups with clinicians and community organizations. She is currently conducting research on autistic women’s identity development, housing needs of autistic adults, and on a specific model of employment support.
Mr. John “Jackie” Barrett
Vice Chair, Economic Inclusion

Mr. John “Jackie” Barrett is an autistic adult and accomplished Canadian Special Olympics athlete. Mr. Barrett was diagnosed as autistic, as well as with a speech impairment and a learning disability at age six. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Saint Mary’s University and a Programmer Analyst and Internet Solutions Developer Diploma from CDI College. Mr. Barrett joined the Special Olympics at age 13, competing as an athlete from 1987 to 2015. He represented Canada as a Powerlifter at the 1999, 2007, 2011, and 2015 Special Olympics World Games. Earlier this year, as a thirteen-time Special Olympics World Games Gold Medallist, he was inducted into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame. He understands what it is like to be autistic and is eager to support by providing his perspective on the creation of policies relating to autistic people.
Mr. Mark Chapeskie

Mr. Mark Chapeskie is a father to two young sons who are autistic. He has volunteered with Quickstart Autism and chairs the Autism Family Advisory Committee at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario. He has received parent training in the Early Start Denver Model, Florida State Autism Navigator Program, and Hanen’s Four Stages of Early Communication. In his professional life, he is Director of Programs at Electricity Human Resources Canada and has managed research programs to develop national occupational standards and associated labour market intelligence. He has worked overseas in east Asia and sub-Saharan Africa. Mr. Chapeskie holds a BA in Government from St. Lawrence University and an MA in Human Security and Peacebuilding from Royal Roads University.
Ms. Shirley Chua-Tan
Vice Chair, Social Inclusion

Ms. Shirley Chua-Tan is a mother of a functional, non-verbal 30-year-old autistic son who is a very accomplished athlete. Ms. Chua-Tan has written a book about her experience as mother of an international medalist and first special needs athlete from the Yukon to qualify for two seasonal sports (skiing and swimming) at the Special Olympic World Games. She is a successful entrepreneur, developer and real estate agent. Ms. Chua-Tan is the former Vice President and a current member of Autism Yukon. She is heavily involved in several volunteer and non-profit efforts. As a true advocate for autistics and parents of autistic children, Ms. Chua-Tan understands the challenges that parents of autistics face, particularly with school systems and adult services. She is currently conducting motivational workshops to share the power of goal setting and of hope.
Dr. Tara Flanagan, Ph.D.
Chair, Social Inclusion

Dr. Tara Flanagan is the Director of SPARC (Social Policy, Advocacy, Research, Community), a research group comprised of graduate students from diverse backgrounds with an array of strengths and interests. SPARC’s mandate is to promote social inclusion among individuals with disabilities by emphasizing self-determination, community, and a shared responsibility for successful outcomes. Dr. Flanagan’s scholarly interests and research grants are in the areas of social inclusion, social policy, transition from school to the community, self-determination, and quality of life among individuals with various types of disabilities and among other equity-seeking groups.
Dr. Stelios Georgiades, Ph.D.
Vice Chair, Interventions

Dr. Stelios Georgiades is an Associate Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences and a Scientist at the Offord Centre for Child Studies at McMaster University. His research program investigates the factors influencing developmental trajectories of autistic children and youth. The overarching objective of this research is to generate new knowledge that will lead to more precise, evidence-based diagnostics and interventions for autism. Dr. Georgiades is the Founder and Co-Director of the McMaster Autism Research Team (MacART), an interdisciplinary collaborative aiming to advance autism care through meaningful research.
Ms. ShanEda Lumb
Vice Chair, Interventions

Diagnosed at age 40, Ms. ShanEda Lumb is an autistic adult and a mother of two grown autistic children. For 20 years, she has worked in child welfare and education as a certified Education Assistant, and is currently pursuing a degree in Disability Studies from Ryerson University. Ms. Lumb is interested in autism advocacy and runs several autism support groups online including a friendship network, a parenting resource/support group, and an autistic women’s group. Ms. Lumb believes that women and girls with autism are an underserved autistic population and that autistic participation in research and programming is especially important to building better services and programmes and a better future for autistic people.
Dr. Laurent Mottron MD, Ph.D., FCAHS

Dr. Laurent Mottron, MD, Ph.D. is a Full Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Addictology, and the M&R Gosselin research chair on cognitive neuroscience of autism at the University of Montréal. He is a clinical researcher specializing in the cognitive aspects of autism. In addition to research and clinical activity, he now directs the cognition axis of the Transforming Autism Care Consortium, the Québec provincial scientific network on autism research. The integration of adult autistics into its research team, its books and its public interventions have contributed to reducing discrimination against adults at the scientific and societal level. His recent work focuses on phenotype heterogeneity, early intervention based on autistic strengths, and influence of trivialisation of autism diagnosis on the ability to obtain research results.
Dr. David Nicholas, Ph.D., RSW
Chair, Economic Inclusion

Dr. David Nicholas is a Professor and Associate Dean Research and Partnerships in the Faculty of Social Work at the University of Calgary. His work has focused on inclusive employment and engagement in community and societal spaces. He is the author of over 160 peer-reviewed publications, focusing on wellbeing in areas of disability and chronic health issues including autism. Other areas of focus include employment access, as well as quality of life and supports for individuals and families. Dr. Nicholas leads the Vocational Abilities Innovation Lab at the University of Calgary, which advances capacity in autism and employment.
Dr. Keiko Shikako-Thomas, Ph.D., OT
Chair, Interventions

Dr. Keiko Shikako-Thomas is a Canada Research Chair in Childhood Disabilities: Participation and Knowledge Translation. She is an Associate Professor at the School of Physical and Occupational Therapy at McGill University. Her research focuses on the promotion of healthy living and the human rights of children with disabilities, and knowledge translation science and practice. Her research program adopts a participatory approach to engage different stakeholders, including policymakers, children and their families in finding solutions to change the environments, informing policy making and promoting the participation of children with disabilities in different life roles and activities.

Dr. Caroline Tait, Ph.D.

Dr. Caroline Tait is a Medical Anthropologist with research interests in Indigenous health, social justice and the challenges faced by marginalized women. She earned her MA at the University of California (Berkeley), and her Ph.D. at McGill University. Dr. Tait has been a Fulbright Scholar and Visiting Fellow at Harvard, and completed a postdoctoral fellowship at McGill. In 2004, Dr. Tait returned to her home province of Saskatchewan to join the Indigenous Peoples’ Health Research Centre—a collaborative initiative involving the First Nations University of Canada, the University of Regina, and the University of Saskatchewan. In 2012, Dr. Tait became a member of the Faculty at the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Saskatchewan.