Assessment Panel

The Assessment Panel will ensure that the assessment is based on a comprehensive review of current and emerging evidence by analyzing trends and best practices in Canada and across the globe.

Panel members are appointed by the Chair. The selection criteria is based on expertise in various fields, including lived experience; credibility; and diversity. Diversity includes, amongst other things, gender, age, ethnicity, and regional representation.

Meet the Members:

Suzanne Tough, MSc, PhD, Chair

Suzanne Tough is a Professor with the Departments of Paediatrics and Community Health Sciences in the Cumming School of Medicine at the University of Calgary, and Faculty for the MaxBell Public Policy Institute.

Dr Tough is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, and has been a member of national and international advisory boards including the World Health Organization Preterm Birth International Consortium, the Canadian Maternal Infant Child Youth Research Network (MICYRN) and CIHR Institutes. Dr Tough has undertaken the role of Scientific Director in 3 provincial organizations/initiatives and serves as a member of the United Way Council of Champions. Dr Tough has been recognized for her skills through a Health Region Peoples’ Choice Award, a Golden Apple Supervision Award, as well as University of Alberta Alumni Award of Excellence, Global YWCA Women of Vision award, the Geoffrey C Robinson Award from the Canadian Pediatric Society, Killam Research Scholar and the United Nations SHEInnovates Initiative.

More information can be found at and

About the Assessment
Engagement Process
Frequently Asked Questions