The Canadian Academy of Health Sciences appointed co-chairs Harrison Applin, PhD, RN, FCAN, Ivy Bourgeault, PhD, FCAHS, Luigi Lepanto, MD, MSc, FRCP(C), and Chris Simpson, BSc, MD, FRCPC, FACC, FHRS, FCCS, FCAHS, and with their guidance, are selecting the members of the Assessment Panel. The selection criteria include expertise in various fields, credibility, and diversity. Diversity included, amongst other things, gender, age, ethnicity, and regional representation.

The Assessment Panel will work together to ensure that the HHR Assessment is based on a comprehensive review of current and emerging evidence by analyzing trends, best practices, and existing policies in Canada and across the globe.

Meet the Co-Chairs:

Harrison Applin, PhD, RN, FCAN

Harrison Applin is the Academic Dean at Medicine Hat College, Adjunct Professor at Athabasca University. He is a Qalipu Mi’kmaq First Nation scholar, academic, applied health and clinical researcher, strategic planning strategist, entrepreneur, and ambassador for Indigenous and rural-remote health outcomes. He demonstrates a collaborative, learner-centric, community based, innovative, industrious, strategic, fiscally responsible, equitable, interdisciplinary, and transformational leadership style. His spiritual name is “Musko Chi Chi- Bear Paws” in harmony with grandmothers and mother earth. With 30 years of leadership and operational experience, he has competencies in interdisciplinary, health and educational change via policy, process and outcome based planning and strategy.

Ivy Bourgeault, PhD, FCAHS

Ivy Bourgeault is recognized nationally and internationally for her research and scholarship on health workforce policy, health worker migration, midwifery and maternity care. She holds a University of Ottawa Research Chair in Gender, Diversity and the Professions having previously held the CIHR Chair in Gender, Work and Health Human Resources, the CIHR and Health Canada Research Chair in Health Human Resources Policy. She co-founded the bilingual Canadian Health Workforce Network and the Canadian Society for the Sociology of Health. Her dedication to effective knowledge exchange is evidenced with a number of consultations to Provincial Ministries of Health, Health Canada, the Pan American Health Organization and the World Health Organization.

Luigi Lepanto, MD, MSc, FRCP(C)

Luigi Lepanto is an advisor to the Ministry of Health in Quebec. He was Chief Medical Officer at the Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (2017 – 2021) and Director of the Health Technology Assessment unit (2007 –2017). He is clinical professor in the department of Radiology, Radiation Oncology and Nuclear Medicine in the Faculty of Medicine, and at the École de Santé Publique. His interests include the impact of technology on healthcare, a systems approach that includes interprofessional collaboration, and the use of real-world data. His experience as clinician, administrator, and academic give him a unique perspective on the challenges faced in planning a sustainable health workforce.

Christopher S. Simpson, BSc, MD, FRCPC, FACC, FHRS, FCCS, FCAHS

Christopher Simpson is the Executive Vice President (Medical) and Chief Medical Officer at Ontario Health. He is also a professor within the Department of Medicine at Queen’s University, an Affiliate Scientist with the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (ICES-Queen’s) and a member of the Queen’s School of Policy Studies Health Policy Council. He served as the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences President in 2020-2021, was elected as the President of the Canadian Medical Association for 2014-2015 and served as the Canadian representative at the World Medical Association. He is a nationally recognized leader in heart rhythm disease, health policy, and medical leadership.